Rafael Méndez Student Scholarships

The Rafael Méndez Scholarships were established at YMF by legendary trumpet player Malcolm McNab to honor his mentor and friend Rafael Méndez. Students between the ages of 8 to 17 who participate in Neighborhood Orchestra are eligible to apply for one of three Méndez scholarships offered each year. These scholarships are intended for students who exhibit a passion for music and who have demonstrated consistent participation and dedication to their instruments. Scholarship recipients receive cost-free, weekly private instruction and/or access to professional quality instruments.

2018 Scholarship Recipients:

Beyonce Maldonado, flute – Melissa Maldonado, harp– Karla Mendoza, violin

The David Weiss Scholars of our Neighborhood Orchestra

The David Weiss Scholars Program was established to honor the legacy of David Weiss, a world-renowned oboist and 30-year member of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, David was also a respected educator, an acclaimed photographer, master of the musical saw, and a dedicated surfer. David’s involvement with YMF over the years has left an indelible mark on our organization.

One of the greatest barriers to musical achievement is the high cost of private lessons and access to musical instruments. David Weiss Scholars are provided the use of cost-free instruments and supplies, as well as concentrated, small-group instruction on a weekly basis.

Weiss Scholars also perform at various YMF functions and public recitals.

Special thanks to these donors for their supporting

the musical advancement of these young musicians!

Marcia Weiss
The Los Angeles ULCA Alumni Mu Phi Epsilon Chapter
The Hungry for Music Foundation

Barbara Abell
Lisette Ackerberg
Rebecca Biderman
Lois Bock
Joanna Carson & Joan and Samuel Crawford III in memory of Uan Rasey
Cathy Collogg
Susan Greenberg
Stella Jeong
Richard Kaufman - in honor of Margye Kaufman
Katherine Kehr
Robert Kehr
Steven & Euna Kim
Laifun Chung & Ted Kotcheff
Lauren LeRoy, in honor of Virginia LeRoy
Los Angeles Alumni Mu Phi Epsilon
Antoinette Perry
William Renton
Lucas Richman
Darice Richman Cooper

Mrs. Paul Van Cleef
Allan Vogel
Rose Weiss
Nancy Weiss